Synthesis and characterisation of new diindenodithienothiophene (DITT) based materials

Irina Afonina, Peter J. Skabara, Filipe Vilela, Alexander L. Kanibolotsky, John C. Forgie, Ashu K. Bansal, Graham A. Turnbull, Ifor D W Samuel, John G. Labram, Thomas D. Anthopoulos, Simon J. Coles, Michael B. Hursthouse

Research output: Contribution to journalArticlepeer-review

13 Scopus citations


Three new diindenodithienothiophene (DITT) based materials were synthesised and their electrochemical properties investigated. The HOMO-LUMO gaps were observed to be 3.33, 3.48 and 2.81 eV, respectively. Cyclic voltammetry results indicate increased stability for the alkylated derivatives. The dioxide exhibits strong photoluminescence, giving a photoluminescence quantum yield of 0.72 in solution and 0.14 in the solid state. Hole mobility measurements were carried out on the non-alkylated derivative and the corresponding values were ∼10-4 cm2 V-1 s-1.

Original languageEnglish (US)
Pages (from-to)1112-1116
Number of pages5
JournalJournal of Materials Chemistry
Issue number6
StatePublished - 2010
Externally publishedYes

ASJC Scopus subject areas

  • Materials Chemistry
  • Chemistry(all)


Dive into the research topics of 'Synthesis and characterisation of new diindenodithienothiophene (DITT) based materials'. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

Cite this